2020 X.J. Kennedy Poetry Prize Winner

Congratulations to Brooke Sahni, whose book Before I Had the Word, has won the 2020 X.J. Kennedy Poetry Prize, selected by Maggie Smith. We look forward to publishing Before I Had the Word in Fall 2021.

We would also like to recognize the finalists for this year’s prize:

Amber Adams – Becoming Ribbons
Kemi Alabi – Against Heaven
E.C. Belli – An Ontology of Ferns
James Dunlap – Heaven’s Burning Porch
Mag Gabbert – Sex Depression Animals
Jennifer Huang – Return Flight
Saba Husain – The Donning
Jennifer Louvet – Salt and Ambrosia
Gnaomi Seimens – The Errant

Established in 1998, The X. J. Kennedy Prize seeks to publish one full-length collection of poetry per year. Since 2019 the Prize comes with a $10,000 advance, a standard royalty contract, and 20 copies of the published book.

Submissions open each year on July 1 and close on September 30.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: