Founded in 1979, TRP: The University Press of SHSU is committed to publishing books of quality poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and scholarship. TRP currently publishes twelve to twenty titles each year.

Housed at Sam Houston State University, TRP is a member of the Texas A&M Press Texas Book Consortium, the Association of University Presses, and the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses.

Our History

Early Years & The Texas Review

In 1976, Dr. Paul Ruffin founded and published the first issue of the Sam Houston Literary Review, the literary journal based at Sam Houston State University. Three years later, in 1979, the journal changed its name to the Texas Review, and TRP: The University Press of SHSU (then called Texas Review Press) published our first book, The Texas Anthology, a paperback collection of Texas poetry and photography.

In the early years, many volumes of the Texas Review included installments in a long-running poetry chapbook series. After initial release in the journal, each chapbook would then be published in book format by TRP.

Over time, both TRP and the Texas Review grew in size and scope, each growing into its own vision and mission in the literary world.

Joining the Texas Book Consortium

In 1997, TRP joined the Texas A&M Press Texas Book Consortium. Since then, our books have been distributed worldwide.

The McNeese Review

In 2022, TRP entered into a distributive partnership with the McNeese Review. Founded in 1948, the McNeese Review is an annual publication of the College of Liberal Arts, the Department of English and Foreign Languages, and the MFA in Creative Writing at McNeese State University, Lake Charles, Louisiana. Funding is provided by the McNeese State University Foundation through an endowment established by Mr. and Mrs. William D. Blake, Mrs. Violet Howell, and Howell Industries, Inc.

Today, the McNeese Review is edited, designed, and produced by the editorial staff at McNeese State University, and is distributed by TRP.


Run by Director J. Bruce Fuller, Managing Editor Pete “PJ” Carlisle, and Publishing Specialist Karisma “Charlie” Tobin, along with an amazing team of graduate interns, TRP is the home of four annual contests and several edited series, including The Southern Poetry Anthology, the TRP Southern Poetry Breakthrough Series, The TRP Chapbook Series, The Sabine Series in Literature, The Margaret Lea Houston Series, and Innovative Prose.



%d bloggers like this: