The Clay Reynolds Novella Prize Judge Announcement!

TRP is excited to announce that Michael Martone will be the final judge for The 2023 Clay Reynolds Novella Prize.

Established in 2001, The Clay Reynolds Novella Prize highlights one book a year that excels in the novella format. Since 2019 the Prize comes with $500, a standard royalty contract, and 20 copies of the published book.

Winner receives $500 advance + publication

Michael Martone is a white man with white hair and glasses. He wears a button-up blue-gray shirt and white pants, and he stands in front of a vibrant wall-hung quilt.

Michael Martone’s recent books include Plain Air: Sketches from Winesburg, Indiana; The Complete Writings of Art Smith; The Moon Over Wapakoneta; Brooding; and Michael Martone (a memoir in contributor’s notes.) With Lex Williford, he edited The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction and The Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction.  Martone is the author of ten other books of short fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in Harper’s, Esquire, Story, Antaeus, North American Review, Benzene, Epoch, Denver Quarterly, Iowa Review, Third Coast, Shenandoah, Bomb, Story Quarterly, American Short Fiction and other magazines.

Martone was born and grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana.  He attended Butler University and graduated from Indiana University.  He holds the MA from The Writing Seminars of The Johns Hopkins University, has won two Fellowships from the NEA and a grant from the Ingram Merrill Foundation.  His stories and essays have appeared in the Pushcart Prize, The Best American Stories and The Best American Essays anthologies and have won numerous awards and prizes, including the Italian Americana fiction contest, the Florida Review Short Story Contest, the Story magazine Short, Short Story Contest, the Margaret Jones Fiction Prize of Black Ice Magazine, and the first World’s Best Short, Short Story Contest.

A faculty member of the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College since 1988, he also taught at Iowa State University, Harvard University, and Syracuse University. In 2021, he retired as a Professor at The University of Alabama where he taught since 1996.

Recent Winners


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: