Announcing the Winner of the 2021 George Garrett Fiction Prize

by J.E. Sumerau

Our final judge Selah Saterstrom has selected Transmission by J.E. Sumerau as the winner of this year’s George Garrett Fiction Prize. Transmission will be available spring 2023.

J.E. Sumerau is a novelist and scholar (pronouns They/She) focused on the intersections of sexualities, gender, religion, and health in the reproduction of inequalities that facilitate patterns of violence in society.


The Visionaries
by Sarah Harris Wallman

Honorable Mention

Stealing Home
by Sharon Hashimoto


  • Lis Anna-Langston – Wild Asses of the Mojave Desert
  • Patricia Bindert – The Linger Longer Over 55 Mobile Home and RV Storage
  • Dinah Cox – The Paper Anniversary
  • Stephanie Dupal – The Kindness of Terrible People
  • Ryan Habermeyer – Jesus Wants Me for a Catastrophe
  • Dustin Hoffman – Such a Good Man
  • Emily McLaughlin – American Reservoir
  • Lynn Schmeidler – The World Was a Girl

Congratulations to J.E. Samerau, our finalists, and all who participated!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: